TINY 2020

21 July - 9 September 2020

In a world obsessed with growth, largely fuelled by the tenets of Western capitalism where “bigger is better” - we had forgotten the importance of the small, the tiny.

Everard Read is delighted to present TINY2020, an online group exhibition with over 50 participating artists who have created diminutive gems; extraordinary works that are no larger than your average cereal box. The curatorial shift toward the diminutive is not the first of its kind - but it is a historical moment for the Everard Read gallery in Johannesburg which, as an institution, has championed the production of monumental sculpture by contemporary South African artists.

This much-anticipated show comprises of works by artists spanning an expansive range of genres, mediums and concepts. Their vastly different practices are brought together by their size alone, allowing a complex network of tiny narratives to emerge instead of a grand curatorial statement. Whilst none of the artists on TINY2020 usually produce work in the scale of miniature, they have accepted the challenge to adapt the way they traditionally work; the way they move their hand across the surface, the malleability of their medium, the modifications necessary to translate their concept into a smaller scale. The results are exquisite, fascinating, humorous, and tiny.


Angus Taylor, Barbara Wildenboer, Beezy Bailey, Beth Diane Armstrong, Blessing Ngobeni,
Brett Murray, Bronwen Findlay, Bronwyn Lace, Caryn Scrimgeour, Chonat Getz,
Colbert Mashile, Daniel Naude, Deborah Bell, Dylan Lewis, Fred Clarke, Gary Stephens,
Guy du Toit, Heather Gourlay-Conyngham, Jane Eppel, Johan Stegmann, Jordan Sweke,
Justin Southey, Keneilwe Mokoena, Kilmany-Jo Liversage, Lady Skollie, Leigh Voigt,
Liberty Battson, Lionel Smit, Liza Grobler, Lucinda Mudge, Lyndi Sales, Matthew Hindley,
Michael MacGarry, Nandipha Mntambo, Neill Wright, Nelson Makamo, Nic Bladen,
Nicola Taylor, Norman Catherine, Paula Louw, Pauline Gutter, Penelope Stutterheime,
Philippe Uzac, Phillemon Hlungwani, Rebecca Haysom, Richard Penn, Ricky Burnett,
Rina Stutzer, Sanell Aggenbach, Setlamorago Mashilo , Tamlin Blake, Walter Voigt,
Wayne Barker, Wilma Cruise.